B&W Trike Ride

Heading nowhere in particular, the four of us went for a jaunt around the neighborhood the other day.  Liesl was determined to pedal the entire way and Steller was also determined… to stay nice and cozy while pushed in his cush ride.

Not sure how the black and white conversions turned out on these.  There’s something milky smooth about a black and white in soft, even light.  They seem to glow from within if the conversion is done well.  I’m still working on “well”.  I find it difficult to keep my black and whites consistent across multiple shoots.  I don’t know if it’s just different lighting/shadow scenarios or if I am still developing an eye.  Perhaps a little of both.

This entry was posted in consistentcy, post processing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to B&W Trike Ride

  1. bang photography says:

    That third image is on the money.
    Well done. Best advice I was ever given for black & white, get your whites white and your blacks black. Obvious really but I see so many poorly processed “preset” images these days with muddy blacks and no real pop in the white.
    Oh by the way, with your aspiration to one day call yourself a professional, if you haven’t already try reading David DuChemins blog post on Amateur Vs Pro – http://www.pixelatedimage.com/blog/2009/11/just/
    Just stumbled upon your blog via the magic of the wordpress tag cloud, I feel i’m going to have a little look around now. Keep up the good work & good luck working towards your aspiration.
    Mark

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is helpful to hear what others think.
      I tend to steer clear of presets just because I want to know how it works… I don’t want something to do my work for me.

      I’ve not heard of DuChemins but I’ll be checking him out shortly. Thanks for that.

  2. I just want to tell you that I’m very new to blogging and site-building and definitely enjoyed you’re web site. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You definitely have very good stories. Regards for sharing with us your blog.

Leave a comment